BLOG

I Am KoreAm: Rebecca Kelley

Name: Rebecca Kelley
Age: 32
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Occupation: Marketing, Media, and Community Relations Director for the South Bay Family YMCA

Describe your background.
I was adopted from Seoul at the age of three months. I came to the USA through the Pearl S. Buck Foundation. I grew up in Port Jervis, New York. San Diego (county) has been my home for the past decade.

If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get?
Cake pops. I have a huge affinity for the pink ones from Starbucks.

[ad#graphic-square]

What is one goal you would like to accomplish during your lifetime?
I’d like to learn how to drive a standard transmission vehicle (stick shift).

Tell us about a unique or quirky habit of yours.
I collect pint (beer) glasses. I have more than 75,075 different pint glasses from all over the world.

What do you feel is your most attractive physical feature?
My smile.

If you had to describe yourself using three words, it would be…
Outgoing, driven, perfectionist.

If you could be anybody besides yourself for a day, you would be…
Jeff Probst from Survivor. I love that show, and he seems to have a great life. I’d also like to say, “The Tribe Has Spoken.”

What are your pet peeves or interesting thing about you that you dislike?
I’m not a big fan of people that jump up and try to cut everyone when exiting a plane. Hasn’t everyone been on a school bus?

Name one of your favorite things about someone in your family.
My daughter–she has a smile that lights up the world.

If you could travel to any place in the world, where would it be and why?
Seoul. I plan on going back for the Winter Olympics.

What is your favorite book?
The Bible

What is the weirdest thing you have ever eaten?
Rocky Mountain Oysters–bull testicles.

Do you have any phobias?
Snakes.

Do you have any words that you live by?
“Be the change you want to see in the world.” –Gandhi

If you could choose one song to describe your life, what would it be and why?
Miley Cyrus, “Party In The U.S.A..”

I am KoreAm and proud because… I was adopted from Seoul at the young age of three months. While I have a Korean “face,” I am Americanized to most. (I’m the typical Twinkie.) I want to make the world a better for my daughter, as well as my community.

Do you want to be featured in the next I Am KoreAm? Click here.

[ad#336]

Related Articles

Back to Top